the debut album from bassist Daniel Fortin

“Here’s a record that does what a good record is supposed to do. It creates a sound-space all of its own, indivisible, difficult to define by reference to anything else, endlessly revisitable.”
Brian Morton, Jazz Journal (UK)

“Fortin’s pieces consist of just a few notes, a phrase or two to be recast, concentrated and contrasted. He creates edgy, tensile structures that have some of the character of Thelonious Monk’s works without any particular resemblance. It’s music that requires tremendous discipline on the part of the band to come up with sufficiently minimalist improvisatory approaches that are true to the spirit of the works, but that’s just what tenor saxophonist David French, vibraphonist Michael Davidson and drummer Fabio Ragnelli have done.”
-Stuart Broomer, The WholeNote

“Fortin’s compositions throughout the album are sharp, clever, have depth, take journeys, yet never veer so far into uncomfortable territory. Yes, in his debut album as a leader, Daniel Fortin has made a quite good collection of songs with this quartet in Brinks.”
-Anthony Dean-Harris, Nextbop

“…a program rich in melody, alive with interaction, and smart solos.”
-Richard B. Kamins, Step Tempest



2015 Fresh Sound New Talent Records (FSNT 473)

David French // tenor saxophone
Michael Davidson // vibraphone
Daniel Fortin // bass
Fabio Ragnelli // drums

Recorded by Sam Ibbett at The Canterbury Music Company
Mixed by Sam Ibbett
Mastered by Peter J. Moore at The E-Room

Artwork by Jared Raab

Executive producer: Jordi Pujol

Listen and buy:
Apple Music
Fresh Sound New Talent